So you want to be a Fireman?

Posted: September 29, 2015 in Uncategorized

Too some, a dream. Others, a calling.

Sadly, most will never know. Most could never even imagine the true reality.

I know I could never have imagined it. 8 years. 8 great years. Only a drop in the bucket. Filled with joy. Filled with pain. Filled with feelings of, well, fulfillment!

Extra time given to so many. A child saved, a family rescued from a mangled car, a birth in the back of an ambulance. Wonderful beginnings & countless thank you’s.

And yet, sadly, time seen taken from so many. Tragic endings. Uncontrollable tears. The sounds of bagpipes echoing through a church. The sounds of sirens whaling over the roopftops at night, fading into the distance. Nights spent lying awake pondering if you could have done more…

Most will never know the feelings of joy as I have felt, and thankfully, most will never know the pain.

Through it all, there is a bond that is shared. A sacred bond, an unbreakable bond. The Brotherhood.

To quote a famous Military General, “From this day til the end of the world. We in it shall be remembered…We Few, We Lucky, We Band of Brothers.”

And what a Band of Brothers I have…

I am a Fireman, and I wouldn’t trade it for the world.

Most will never know.

Comments
  1. Jim Vieira says:

    This month I’ve reached a milestone, one that I thought would never be achieved because I thought by now my coat and helmet would have been hung up in the corner. The past 40 years, have been some of the most rewarding, and at the same time disappointing years of my adult life. Yes, Lt, we are a brotherhood and a sisterhood, we are sometimes a very dysfunctional family but when the chips are down, the fire service becomes this well oiled machine where nobody and I mean nobody can throw a wrench into our gears. One of the best decsions that I ever made (actually my late father made me join to keep me out of trouble) was to join the fire service, one of which I wouldn’t trade for anything in the world.

Leave a Reply

